By Jose Santino Bunachita
PIO Reporter

CEBU CITY (August 8, 2022) – City Councilor Jocelyn Pesquera was elected today as president of the Philippine Councilors League (PCL) Cebu City Chapter.

She ran unopposed.

Councilor Joy Pesquera (PIO/File)

“Rest assured, all opportunities will be given to all the members. Sa PCL, way partidohay. In PCL, we only have one party,” she said in a speech after the PCL Comelec declared her as winner.

City Councilor Jerry Guardo, on the other hand, was elected vice president; Councilor Noel Wenceslao, secretary-general; and Renato Osmeña, Jr., treasurer.

Pesquera, a veteran councilor, also said she is eyeing to run for a higher position with the national PCL, which is scheduled to have its elections on March 2023.

From among the positions, she said she would like to become either national vice chairperson, national Public Relations Officer (PRO), or island vice president for Visayas.

“I am already in talks sa atong leaders sa PCL kung unsay available na position,” said Pesquera, who has been a member of the PCL since 1998.

Rest assured, all opportunities will be given to all the members. Sa PCL, way partidohay. In PCL, we only have one party.

Councilor Joy Pesquera

In her previous terms as city councilor, Pesquera also held positions in the national PCL as island vice president and treasurer for the Visayas.

Other PCL Cebu City officers elected today were Councilor Donaldo Hontiveros, PRO, Councilor Pastor Alcover, Jr., business manager; and Councilors Phillip Zafra and Francis Esparis as chapter directors.

The new set of officers took their oath before Mayor Mike Rama, who is also a former PCL national chairman.

Atty. Oliver Owen Garcia. (Photo grabbed from Facebook)

Councilors Jaypee Labella and James Anthony Cuenco, who were absent during the election, were appointed by Pesquera as auditor and chapter director, respectively.

Councilors Rey Gealon and Jose Lorenzo Abellanosa were likewise appointed as additional chapter directors.

PCL national general legal counsel Atty. Oliver Owen Garcia sat as member of the PCL Comelec together with Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Cebu City Director Dr. Neila Aquino, during the elections held at the City Hall Social Hall.

In his message on behalf of PCL National Interim President Handy Lao, Atty. Garcia said the PCL is developing more trainings and programs that will help councilors, based on their respective committee chairmanships.

For her part, Pesquera assured that in PCL Cebu City, these programs and trainings will be distributed among its different members to provide equal opportunities to each city councilor.

She said this is important, especially for the city’s neophyte councilors. #

Councilor Jose Lorenzo Abellanosa casts his vote in today’s election of the Philippine Councilors League-Cebu City Chapter. City Councilor Joy Pesquera, who was voted president, named Abellanosa as additional chapter director. (PIO/Allan Defensor)